WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group (update) Join Now

Cricket WTC Final: Schedule, Date, time, venue, how to watch and who is playing

Rate this post

Cricket WTC Final: The ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final is scheduled, and things are heating up.

Australia has advanced to the final on June 7 where they will compete against India’s might despite a lackluster series in India.

Here is all the information you require regarding the ICC World Test Championship cricket WTC finale.

Cricket WTC Final
Cricket WTC Final: Schedule, Date, time, venue, how to watch, and who is playing

When is the World Test Championship Cricket WTC final?

The World Test Championship final will take place from June 7 to June 11, with June 12 serving as a backup day.

It will be the first Test match action for both sets of players since this year’s Border-Gavaskar Trophy series in India.

With a 2-1 series win, the home team kept the trophy after games in February and March.

Where is the World Test Championship final?

The Oval in London will host the championship game.

The first cricket WTC final was held at Southampton’s Rose Bowl, making this the second WTC final in history.

The Rose Bowl was able to host a bio-secure bubble during the COVID-19 pandemic thanks to the venue’s on-site amenities, which allowed it to replace Lord’s.

The first Test championship was won by New Zealand, who defeated India by an eight-wicket margin.

Who is playing in the World Test Championship final?

Australia firmly secured its place in the WTC final by defeating India in the third Test at the beginning of March.

India has qualified as well, but not without a snag.

Sri Lanka would advance ahead of India and into the World Test Championship final if Sri Lanka won two matches against New Zealand and India lost the fourth Test against Australia.

After Australia and India drew the fourth Test, Sri Lanka was leading the first Test against New Zealand when The Black Caps ran through a last-ball bye to give New Zealand the victory and put an end to Sri Lanka’s hopes of reaching the cricket WTC final.

IPL 2023 team players list with price

How to watch the World Test Championship final?

The championship cricket wtc final will be shown on Fox Sports in Australia and streamed on Kayo and ICC.tv.

It is being broadcast on Star Sports in India, and Disney+ Hotstar is offering live streaming of the event.

How does the World Test Championship work?

The ICC World Test Championship (WTC), which had been postponed in 2013 and 2017, was finally launched in 2019.

The competition lasts for two years, with the current season starting in August 2021 and the last match scheduled for June 2023.

Teams receive 12 points for a win, 6 points for a tie, 4 points for a draw, and 0 points for a defeat. Percentages are taken into account for each result, and sides are ranked according to those percentages.

ICC World Test Championship points distribution

Result Points earned Percentage of points
Win 12 100%
Tie 6 50%
Draw 4 33.33%
Loss 0 0%

Here is the complete India team for the World Test Championship final against Australia, including the most recent player news, injury replacement updates, and more. The BCCI has released India’s updated (World Test Championship) cricket wtc final squad, replacing KL Rahul with Ishan Kishan.

From June 7 to June 11, 2023, at the Oval in London, India will play Australia in the championship game. Ajinkya Rahane’s return and Jasprit Bumrah’s absence were among the talking points when the India team first unveiled their lineup on April 25.

KL Rahul was disqualified from the game on May 8 after an updated squad was revealed. Rahul suffered a right upper thigh injury while playing for the Lucknow Super Giants in an IPL 2023 match, and after consulting with a doctor, has decided to have surgery. After that, he will receive rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy.

Ishan Kishan, a wicketkeeper-batter, has been named as his replacement. Kishan has played for the team in 14 ODIs and 27 T20Is but has not yet made his Test debut.

Kishan, who is the team’s second wicketkeeper in the absence of Rishabh Pant, is joined by KS Bharat.

Jaydev Unadkat was also sidelined after sustaining an unforeseen shoulder injury while playing in the IPL nets. He has not yet been disqualified, and a final choice will be made later.

Umesh Yadav also underwent rehabilitation for a minor hamstring injury he sustained while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL.

The Cricket WTC final will feature Ruturaj Gaikwad, KL Rahul, and Mukesh Kumar as standby players.

Updated India squad for the Cricket WTC final:

Openers Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill
Middle-order batters Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane
Wicketkeepers KS Bharat, Ishan Kishan
Spinners R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel
Seamers Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat
Standby players Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav


Leave a Comment